WiSDMH* - Recognition of OUHSC Women in Science Dentistry Medicine & Health: The Untold Story
For those of you not familiar with WiSDMH*, we are Women in Science, Dentistry, Medicine and Health at OUHSC. We recognize the unique differences women face in the workforce. The goal of WiSDMH* is to recognize the contributions of women in the health professions and academic science community, to promote their development, advancement and retention, and to make available tools to foster equal opportunity for women in academic careers.
As such, we want to create a mechanism by which significant international, national, regional or institutional contributions/awards, notable accomplishments or honors made by or received by women faculty at OUHSC are recognized, recorded and showcased each year with an exhibit at the library and in a digital and/or bound book. So many of these outstanding contributions are unknown to the wider OUHSC community, and even within our own colleges. Our hope is that this becomes a means to share and celebrate these accomplishments and personal stories, to archive the legacy and to inspire those who follow.
- Kelly Standifer, PhD, Chair, 2022 WiSDMH* Executive Committee
An Exhibit of Photographs by Huzzatul Mursalin - October 3, 2019- March 1, 2021
I am a photographer and involved in this fantastic passion since 2010. My works represent the people, places, and cultures around me. I am also a microbiologist by profession. I moved to the Oklahoma City of USA in pursuance of a Ph.D. degree. I am studying the pathogenic mechanism of a blinding bacterial eye infection called endophthalmitis. Besides my time to investigate science curiosity, I spend my leisure time photographing people and places around me.
My thirst in photography developed from my curiosity in the people and their way of dealings with the lives around them. Photography is the only thing which makes me feel comfortable and helps me to fight a tough time. I’m still an amateur photographer. As I'm not a professional photographer, I always try to express my photograph in a simple way. Photography stimulates the nourishment for my soul. However, I am still not sure about the fate of the soul without a body, so I try to sell my images personally and through image agencies to sustain my corporeal self.
And thank you for visiting my work. I appreciate your visit.
If you are interested in my works please contact me at mdhmursalin@gmail.com or mdhuzzatul-mursalin@ouhsc.edu.
A larger body of my works is available through:
Facebook: facebook.com/hmursalin Flickr: flickr.com/sopnochora
--- Huzzatul Mursalin
Southeast Asia: Views and Impressions - October 2018
An Exhibition of Photographs by Dr. Joseph J. Ferretti
Former Senior Vice-President and Provost of the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
Ancient Civilizations are found all over the world and provide a glimpse into their history and geographical development. A visitor cannot help but being overcome with fascination and awe of the remains of once great cities and their architectural and artistic treasures. An initial visit to a lost city in one part of the world whets the appetite to see other areas, to learn about their culture, science, theology, art, and philosophies. In this photo exhibit, we present images from Southeast Asian countries visited over the past fifteen years. Some images are unique, others are standard and known for a particular country or area. We hope you will enjoy some of our impressions.
--- Joe and Martha Ferretti
Common Ground: Artwork Contributed by Bird Library Staff & Faculty - May 2018
Artwork Contributed by Bird Library Staff & Faculty
Creative expression is a form of communication, therapy, play, and documentation. Creativity is also an equalizer, blind to differences in position, age, gender, race, and religious affiliation. In Bird Library’s newest exhibit, Common Ground, library staff and faculty collaborated to pull together an impressive display of their own and their family members’ artwork in a variety of mediums. The exhibit includes photography, chalk drawings, oil paintings, collages, poetry, and dioramas which portray an array of themes such as family, landscape, fantasy, and history. We hope you enjoy our individual talents and shared, collective story in Common Ground!
--- Kristi Kohl, Director of Serials Services
Ex Libris - Bookplates From the History of Medicine - February 2018
A bookplate, or ex libris as often referred to, is a decorative label pasted inside the cover of a book to indicate ownership. The first bookplates originated in Germany along with the invention of the letterpress in the 15th century. As printed books began to flourish and borrowing became more prevalent in the 16th century, a record of ownership became necessary. Throughout the 17th century, bookplates were predominantly used by superiors in monasteries, philosophers, mathematicians, and physicians and were commonly designed with a coat of arms. The 18th and 19th centuries brought about copper-plated engravings which replaced woodcuts and introduced more decorative and ornamental designs. After World War II, ready-made bookplates became available. The current exhibit on display is a sampling of the bookplate collection from the Robert M. Bird Library’s History of Medicine. All are believed to be post-WWII and were contained within books donated to the collection from those named on the plates. All bookplates were scanned and enlarged for display purposes.
--- Kristi Kohl, Director of Serials Services
Medical Satire & Caricatures - November 2017
This current exhibit of caricatures from the Robert M. Bird Library History of Medicine Collection consists mostly of medical satire from the late 18th century through the early 20th century. Most of the caricature art and witty commentaries are by English and French artists. The targets of these caricatures were well-known contemporary personalities of British and French society. These colored images poked fun at the “vanities” of individuals in the public eye of the day. Sometimes political, sometimes social, with or without malice, these caricatures mirrored the spirit of their times. And, on occasion some of the subjects took exception to their caricature. Certainly these artists as moralists or humanitarians took pencil to paper recording the human comedy of a past era. Enjoy!
Anything But Ordinary by Mark Gunter - August 2017
There is a new photography exhibit in the Ferrati Lounge of the Robert Bird Library called "Anything But Ordinary" which features images captured by Mark Gunter. Mark Gunter is part of the OUHSC community and works in the Office of Institutional Research. The theme of his collection centers around the struggle of self-identity and confidence in the daily chaos of life. "Hiding in this collection are people who face the same struggles of self-identity and confidence as you. These are people who have found a way to see, at least for a moment, the beauty that those who know and love them see each and every day," said Mark.
Come see this intriguing collection on the third floor, near the Service Desk of the Library.
The Women of Northeast Oklahoma City PhotoVoice Project - February 2017
The Women of Northeast Oklahoma City Photovoice Project exhibition is located on the 3rd floor of the library and is curated by Forum Fellow Dr. John Harris (Regional and City Planning). This is an important project taking place during an important time in Oklahoma City. While there is renewed investment and interest in the Northeast neighborhoods, these women raise their voices to tell of everyday life and shape the future of their community. This exhibition of their photography highlights their key themes and neighborhood experiences as well as how these intersect with race and gender.
“We are 25 women from Northeast Oklahoma City. Some of us have lived here our whole lives, some of us are newcomers, but all of us are connected to the area in deep, personal ways. In the summer of 2016, we committed to each other to begin sharing reflections on how neighborhood conditions impact our safety and our day-to-day enjoyment of the city. Key to our reflections was the reality that race and gender intersect with the urban fabric of our neighborhoods in ways that shape women’s experience of the city. We vary in ages and walks of life but share a desire that our perspectives are shared so that policy makers and the wider region can better understand important issues that impact our lives and those around us.”
"Heroines: Real & Imagined" by Bret Harmon of OUHSC - August 2016
On Monday, August 1, 2016, artist Bret C. Harmon unveiled his new art exhibit called "Heroines: Real & Imagined." Bret Harmon is not only an artist, he has been employed with the OU Health Sciences Center since October 2013. Bret works in the Office of Research Administration as a Sponsored Programs Administrator for the Grants team.
Bret is also the proud father of a twelve year old daughter, Yasmine. Yasmine was part of his inspiration for his drawings in this exhibit and the relationship of role models and heroines that young women and young adults aspire to. Historic individuals portrayed in his drawings will include Anne Frank, Rosa Parks, Harriet Tubman, and Amelia Earhart. These heroines' stories remain with us today because their amazing and brave accomplishments have been documented through books, television, and film. The imagined individuals, will include Maleficent, Hermione Granger, Rita Vrataski, and Jessica Jones, each of whom are equally inspiring and powerful fictional characters. The subjects of his drawings, along with the striking detail and saturation of colors present in the works, tell a story that invokes a feeling of self-discovery and aspiration.
Come see the work of one of OUHSC's very own! Bret's artwork will be on display throughout the month of August on the 3rd Floor of the Robert M. Bird Library.
Bret Harmon pictured with one of his works, a drawing of Rosa Parks.
Galileo's World - August 2015 to April 2016
The Robert M. Bird Health Sciences Library is proud to announce the exhibit “Galileo and the Health Sciences,” part of the University of Oklahoma’s “Galileo’s World” exhibition. The opening reception will take place from 4 to 6 p.m. Sept. 17 in the exhibit area on the 3rd floor. The Bird Library exhibit will explore Galileo’s connections to the world of health sciences, including his own expertise in medicine and his legacy’s contributions to the field.
To celebrate OU’s 125th anniversary, works from the university’s Galileo Collection will be on display at several locations across the state this fall.
“Galileo's World” will feature OU Libraries’ collection of all 12 first editions of Galileo’s works and more, focusing not only on the famous mathematician’s astronomical discoveries, but on his other ties to culture, science, and the humanities.
An iPad kiosk provides a self guided tour of the collection on exhibit.
Blood and Thunder Exhibit
Don’t miss the current art exhibit on the third floor of the Bird Library, “Blood and Thunder: Musings on the Art of Medicine.” The exhibit showcases selections from 14 years of works published in the arts journal of the same name, published by the OU College of Medicine.
The journal aims to enhance the education of health care professionals through exploration of art while serving the community as a means for artistic expression. Published annually, Blood and Thunder has attracted a large audience both nationally and internationally, and is distributed to all U.S. medical schools that are members of the Association of American Medical Colleges. The selections from the journal represent a gallery of specially curated, medically inspired art, including paintings, photographs, etchings, drawings, and digital images.
Lillian Anna Blouin Heart of the Expanding Universe
Restless Expressions: Emerging Interpretations and Styles of Young Oklahoma Native Artists
The artwork for the exhibit have been selected from acquisitions made since the installation of the Oklahoma Native American Art Collection at the David L Boren Student Center in September of 2011. Beginning in 1990, the paintings have been collected one piece at a time due simply to the artistic and spiritual appeal of each. There has been no plan or strategy for the collection other than the artists must have Oklahoma connections and the purchases had to be from Oklahoma galleries and artists.
The collection as a whole demonstrates the diversity of Native Art and highlights contemporary and emerging Oklahoma artists. The only criterion for the selection of the current show was that the artists were young with success-driven emergence. These young artists are distinguished by the manner in which they apply paint to the canvas and color, shaping of clay, and in some instances words in a poem. Their inspiration is derived from social issues, struggles determining their role and responsibility in preserving and extending heritage, culture, and tradition, and importantly personal challenges and frustrations that are uniquely related to the life young natives in today’s environment.
This exhibit is made possible by Daniel J. Brackett. Additional contributions of paintings to this show were made from the collections of Bill Brackett, 32 year member of the OU College of Continuing Education and Ryan Brackett, D.D.S., graduate of the OUHSC College of Dentistry.
Daniel J. Brackett arrived on the OUHSC campus in 1964. Since that time he has served in numerous faculty and administrative positions including twenty years as Professor and Director of Surgical Research and thirty years as Research Scientist with the VA Medical Center, as well as adjunct faculty in a number of College of Medicine departments.
He currently serves on the Board of Associates for the Fred Jones Jr. Museum of Art and its committees and provides stewardship for the Daniel J Brackett Oklahoma Native American Art Collection located throughout the three floors of the David L. Boren Student Center. He has served as Chair of the Board of Trustees for the Oscar Jacobson Foundation for the last 2 years as the Foundation is moving through a period of transition to improve community outreach though its culture-related programs and the support of native artists through the activities of the Jacobson House.
Into the Void - Winter 2013 / Spring 2014
Into the Void is a student-curated printmaking exhibition featuring works from the FJJMA permanent collection by artists such as Victor Vasarely, Bridget Riley and Richard Anuskiewicz.
The exhibition is a sensory experience that encompasses the entire optical spectrum. It is a modern ode to a few of the founding members of the Optical Art movement.
Into the Void is curated by students from the OU School of Art and Art History: Alli Campbell, Andrea Duran, Laura Fortner, Alexa Healey, Theresa Hultberg and Jessica Schlarb.
Watercolor Moments - Summer/Fall 2013
Art by Ellie Scherlag
Wife of Dr. Benjamin Scherlag
Department of Medicine
Section of Cardiology
Miner Exhibit - Spring 2013
The Miner Gallery housed at the Oklahoma Foundation for Digestive Research (OFDR) benefits the OFDR, which is a private, non-profit medical research foundation dedicated to advancing research in the evaluation of new therapies and promising medications for digestive disorders. Their mission is to provide state-of-the-art therapy to patients with digestive disorders, participate in the training of new physicians and medical professionals and to educate the public about gastrointestinal illnesses.
Dr. Miner was the head of the Division of Gastroenterology at the University of Kansas before being recruited to the Oklahoma Foundation for Digestive Research in 1996. This collection includes photographs from his travels throughout the United States, Italy, Greece, France and Brazil, in addition to some special photographs of the Oklahoma City National Memorial.
The gallery can be found at http://www.ofdr.org.
Silent Witnesses - Fall 2012
Nearly 800 innocent people are either killed or maimed each month as a result of more than 100 million mines lying scattered across more than 60 countries throughout the world. Originally a collaboration between the United Nations and the Center for International Health and Cooperation, Silent Witnesses was organized by Kevin M. Cahill, M.D., and photographer Thomas Roma in July 1995 for the United Nations International Meeting on Mine Clearance in Geneva, Switzerland.
The exhibition tells a remarkable tale of terrible suffering and pain mixed with incredible determination, accomplishment and hope through the contributions of 25 internationally acclaimed photographers. Through the use of prosthetic legs as subject matter, the artists hope viewers will identify with the ever-increasing humanitarian and diplomatic efforts to stop the land mine epidemic from spreading.
Dr. Cahill is President and Director of the Center for International Health and Cooperation in New York City. He also serves as Clinical Professor of Tropical Medicine at New York University and as Professor and Chairman of the Department of International Health at the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland. He is Senior Medical Consultant to the United Nations Health Service, as well as to numerous foreign governments, and he has carried out medical research and refugee relief work in Somalia for more than 50 years.
Due to his longtime friendship with OU Regent Max Weitzenhoffer, Dr. Cahill gave his collection of photographs comprising Silent Witnesses to the Fred Jones Jr. Museum of Art in 2012. This exhibition is a joint collaboration between the fjjma and the ou Health Sciences Center. This exhibit was made possible by: M. Dewayne Andrews, M.D., MACP, Senior Vice President and Provost of the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center and Executive Dean of the College of Medicine and Ghislain d’Humières, Bill and Wylodean Saxon Director of the Fred Jones Jr. Museum of Art Due to his longtime friendship with OU Regent Max Weitzenhoffer, Dr. Cahill gave his collection of photographs comprising Silent Witnesses to the Fred Jones Jr. Museum of Art in 2012. This exhibition is a joint collaboration between the FJJMA and the OU Health Sciences Center.
This exhibit was made possible by:
M. Dewayne Andrews, M.D., MACP,
Senior Vice President and Provost of the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
and Executive Dean of the College of Medicine
and
Ghislain d’Humières, Bill and Wylodean Saxon Director of theFred Jones Jr. Museum of Art