Searching Ovid: Tips & Techniques
Whether you're a new user or an experienced searcher you should pick up some tips and tricks in this session that will help you get more out of Ovid. Topics will include what databases are available, utilizing controlled vocabulary/subject headings, applying limits, finding full text, and strategies for searching Ovid effectively.
Introduction to PubMed
This session will cover searching PubMed, the National Library of Medicine's free biomedical database that includes MEDLINE. A number of topics will be addressed including searching with subject headings and keywords; limits and formats; full text access; printing, saving, and exporting citations; searching by author, journal title, or known citation; and saving searches/setting up a search alert.
Searching CINAHL & SPORTDiscus
This session will prepare users to search the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) and the SPORTDiscus databases through the EBSCO interface. Content will be focused on developing effective and efficient search strategies so that participants can find the information they need.
Web of Knowledge
Need to know who's being cited and by whom? Join us for an exploration of Web of Science which provides electronic access to Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Science Citation Index. In addition, this class provides an overview of two other Web of Knowledge resources: Journal Citation Reports and Current Contents. Users will learn how to search a citation index, find highly cited authors and journals in a discipline, and set up email alerts.
Exploring Health Statistics
Need to locate specific statistics for your research? Participants in this class will discover a variety of state, national and international health statistics resources. In addition, resources focused on specific disciplines and diseases, as well as sources for fast facts, tables and other data will also be introduced.
Mobile Resources @ the Bird Library
This class introduces the Bird Library's mobile web site and provides an overview of health information resources optimized for mobile devices.
Overview of Clinical Reference Tools
The Bird Library provides access to a number of clinically oriented information resources, including DynaMed, VisualDx, and OvidMD. This class introduces a collection of tools to help users locate the best resource to meet their clinical information needs.
SciFinder
This class provides an overview of SciFinder, a research discovery tool produced by the Chemical Abstracts Service that allows users to search for information by topic, chemical reaction, substance, patent and more.
EndNote
Extensive training resources, including live webinars taught by expert EndNote trainers, are available at http://endnote.com/training.