Monographic Services located on the fourth floor in Room 418, is responsible for cataloging and classifying books, non-print media, and archival material as well as preparing them for the shelves along with the mending, repair, and preservation of this material. This department also maintains content for the online catalog (Alma).
LIB-418 (History of Medicine) 405-271-2285, opt.8 or x48758
Primo is the public interface used to access the online catalog (Alma) that provides access to print book and periodical titles, as well as non-print media and archival titles acquired by the library.
Primo provides a bibliographic record for each title which describes the item, gives its location in the library, and indicates its availability for loan.
The History of Medicine is located on the fourth floor in Room 418. This a special collection containing rare, unique materials, and artifacts on healthcare. Click here to access the digital collection for the History of Medicine
The archives for the Health Sciences Center is also contained in this area. Exhibits and displays of the collection are in and around this area.
Due to the historical value of the items in this collection, the stacks are not open for browsing.
To view or obtain materials in the History of Medicine and Archives please request assistance from Monographic Services between the hours of 10:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday.
Donations
The Robert M. Bird Health Sciences Library accepts gifts of monographs to add titles, replace lost or worn materials, of fill in gaps in the collection. The Library retains the right to add, exchange, or sell gifts at its discretion. A list is requested for large gifts before they are received, and should accompany the materials.
The IRS does not permit the Library to evaluate gifts for tax deductions, however staff will send receipts for gifts when acknowledgment is requested. To expedite receipt of acknowledgement, provide complete name, phone contact, or email along with mailing address, and list of materials with request for receipt. Contact us to inquire about donating monographs or complete the form below.
Monographic Services receives and catalogs OUHSC dissertations and theses. Both print and full text can be located in the online catalog PRIMO. Print OUHSC theses and dissertations are shelved alphabetically by the author’s last name in the books stacks on the third floor under the call number W 4A.
The Library participates with ProQuest Information and Learning for the publishing of dissertations. The department sends the OUHSC dissertations to ProQuest for entry into Dissertation Abstracts.
A service is available to bind copies of a dissertation or thesis at a nominal cost when ordered at the time of submission. Inquire at Access Services for further information.
The Library cooperates with the OUHSC Graduate College in providing assistance with the preparation submission process. For further instruction and guidelines see Thesis/Disseration Guidelines and Graduate Student Forms on the Graduate College page under Current Students.
