EndNote Version X8 Now Available for Download for Windows and MAC
More than just a reference manager, EndNote moves you through the research process as you search, organize, write, publish and share.
To download EndNote, visit https://library.ouhsc.edu/c.php?g=314836&p=2103167 and fill out the download form.
Christmas Tree Lighting Ceremony at the Bird Library Nov. 30
You are cordially invited to the 2016 Christmas Tree Lighting and Reception in the Bird Library Foyer on Wednesday, November 30th, 2016. Dr. Jason Sanders, Senior Vice President and Provost will be present as well as Santa Claus himself! Christmas carols will be led by Denise Churchill and Kim Hasan. Refreshments following the Tree Lighting are sponsored by Staff Senate and the Community Outreach Committee.
New Journal Publication by Bird Library Reference Librarian
Tara Malone, Assistant Professor and Reference and Instructional Services Librarian, recently had an article published in the Journal Evidence Based Library and Information Practice. The article is titled Academic Librarians' Knowledge of Bibliometrics and Altmetrics. It discusses research impact measures and academic librarians' familiarity with different research metrics.
The article is open access and is available at https://ejournals.library.ualberta.ca/index.php/EBLIP/article/view/27640/20811. Congrats Tara on your accomplishment!
NEW History of Medicine Collection: The Shurley Slides Collection
The Shurley Slides collection is a collection of photograph slides provided by Jay T. Shurley, MD, that were taken in Antartica through the period of approximately 1960-1968. The slides capture some of the early studies of Antartica wildlife and the conditions and activities of the researchers and inhabitants on the continent.
Jay T. Shurley, MD, 1917-2004, was a prominent physician, psychiatrist, professor and researcher. He was founder and Director of the Behavioral Sciences Laboratory at the VA Medical Center in Oklahoma City and Senior Medical Investigator for the VA for 14 years. He taught psychiatry for many years, retiring as Professor Emeritus of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center. Publishing over 100 scientific articles and texts, Dr. Shurley enjoyed a varied and remarkable career. He was an Antarctic research pioneer and was awarded the Antarctic Service Medal in 1970. Shurley Ridge, Pensacola Mountains, Antartica is named in his honor.
To view the Shurley Slides Collection visit our History Of Medicine Collection on our website.
--"Jay Talmadge Shurley" The Oklahoman February 29, 2004 Published: Page(s). NewsOK.com Web.
Shari Clifton receives the Michael E. DeBakey Library Services Outreach Award
Shari Clifton, Associate Director; Professor, Department of Health Sciences Library and Information Systems, Graduate College; and Head of Reference and Instructional Services at the Robert M. Bird Library, received the Michael E. DeBakey Library Services Outreach Award for exemplary contributions to medical education and librarianship in her community. The award was given by the Friends of the National Library of Medicine (FNLM) at a dinner in Washington, DC on September 13th. Shari has been the principle investigator or project director on more than $760,000 in outreach funds received from NLM in the past 20 years. Sheldon Kotzin, Board Member for FNLM remarked “I had the pleasure of chairing the DeBakey award committee and reading many fine applications; Ms. Clifton’s stood out this year among a fine field of nominees. In her remarks Shari acknowledged that her success is due to the efforts of many at the Bird Library. Great job Shari, congratulations!
New Director at the National Library of Medicine
Dr. Donald Lindbergh stepped down after serving as director for The National Library of Medicine (NLM) for 31 years. The NLM appointed a new director after a national search. Dr. Patti Brennan, was sworn in as the Director on September 12th in a public ceremony that Shari and Joy were fortunate to attend. She is the first woman and nurse to serve as the director and is uniquely qualified in that she also holds a PhD in Industrial Engineering. She is a pioneer in the development of information systems for patients. Dr. Brennan conducts external evaluations of health information technology architectures and works to repurpose engineering methods for health care.
3D Printing Now Available in the Non-Print Media Department
The Library is now currently offering FREE 3D printing for OUHSC students, faculty and staff. If you would like to have something printed, read our 3D Printing Guide and fill out the request form. You may also visit the Non-Print Media Department on the 3rd floor of the library.
Craftbot 2 3D Printer
Bird Library Reference Publication in Medical Reference Services Quarterly Journal
Shari Clifton, Professor / Associate Director and Head, Reference & Instructional Services and Phill Jo, Assistant Professor / Reference & Instructional Services Librarian at the Bird Library, recently published "A Journey Worth Taking: Exploring a Hybrid Embedded Library Instruction Model Through Three Distinct Cases" in Medical Reference Services Quarterly.
The article explores various applications of a hybrid embedded instruction model used with undergraduate students and residents in three disciplines at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center. Clifton and Jo assert that the hybrid model maximizes collaboration between course faculty members and librarians and enhances the relevance of library instruction for users.
NEW Research Resource: Talk-Matching Service & New features for Henry Stewart Talks
The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection from Henry Stewart Talks provides immediate access to over 2,000 online seminar-style talks, containing the latest research and development as well as the fundamentals of the biomedical and life sciences, presented by many of the world’s leading experts.
This resource is perfect for your research as well as a study or reference tool for students. In fact, each video lecture (or a segment of it) can be easily incorporated into a live lecture in class or embedded into virtual learning environments (such as Blackboard, Moodle etc.). Since we understand that faculty members don’t necessarily have the time to go through the Collection and choose the most appropriate lectures for their courses, we offer a talk-matching service entirely free of charge.
The service is provided by Dr Iris Margalit, who has been working with faculty members at universities worldwide to identify the series and talks from The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection that best complement their particular course. Feel free to e-mail Iris at iris@hstalks.com or to complete the “Send Syllabus” form on the HSTalks website: , and she will get back to you with a list of suggested talks and series. In addition, Iris will be happy to talk to you about the Collection and its possibilities for use in teaching and learning.
Another useful feature are the recently added dynamic transcripts that are available on talks that have subtitles which helps to make note-taking easier. Visit hstalks.com
New Art Exhibit: "Heroines: Real & Imagined" by Bret Harmon of OUHSC
On Monday, August 1, 2016, artist Bret C. Harmon unveiled his new art exhibit called "Heroines: Real & Imagined." Bret Harmon is not only an artist, he has been employed with the OU Health Sciences Center since October 2013. Bret works in the Office of Research Administration as a Sponsored Programs Administrator for the Grants team.
Bret is also the proud father of a twelve year old daughter, Yasmine. Yasmine was part of his inspiration for his drawings in this exhibit and the relationship of role models and heroines that young women and young adults aspire to. Historic individuals portrayed in his drawings will include Anne Frank, Rosa Parks, Harriet Tubman, and Amelia Earhart. These heroines' stories remain with us today because their amazing and brave accomplishments have been documented through books, television, and film. The imagined individuals, will include Maleficent, Hermione Granger, Rita Vrataski, and Jessica Jones, each of whom are equally inspiring and powerful fictional characters. The subjects of his drawings, along with the striking detail and saturation of colors present in the works, tell a story that invokes a feeling of self-discovery and aspiration.
Come see the work of one of OUHSC's very own! Bret's artwork will be on display throughout the month of August on the 3rd Floor of the Robert M. Bird Library.
Bret Harmon pictured with one of his works, a drawing of Rosa Parks.
New releases in the HS Biomedical & Life Sciences lectures-now available for access!
This month's releases to the Biomedical & Life Sciences Lecture Collection includes the launching of several new series. One of the new releases titled "ALS and Other Motor Neuron Disorders," discusses the Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) disease, which is the most common form of motor neuron degeneration and is currently incurable. The lecture series reviews the current knowledge on motor neuron disorders and discusses possible directions to developing efficient treatments as a result of the last 20 years of acquired data. Other new editions to the lectures collection include a series on "Aging" and "Evolutionary Physiology", "Precision Medicine and Cardiology", "Personalized Medicine in Obesity", "Biology of the Eye" which discusses the eye's vitreous, and a talk on randomization in N-of-1 clinical trials.
The Henry Stewart Biomedical & Life Sciences lectures are audio-visual lectures by leading world experts. The collection contains over 2,000 specially prepared, animated, and online lectures which are highly regarded by faculty, post-docs and other research staff, graduate students and advanced undergraduates.
To access these new lectures and many others visit www.hstalks.com/access/
To access the latest releases visit www.hstalks.com/biosci/recent
Trial Access to JoVE's Clinical Skills Video Collections--Now through August 5th!
Freely access 30 fundamental video demonstrations included in JoVE’s new Clinical Skills video collections for the month of July. The Clinical Skills videos include demonstrations on how to perform many of the most common medical exams such as:
Access the collection at http://www.jove.com/science-education/clinicskills or from the Robert M. Bird Library’s A to Z Databases listing JoVE Clinical Skills I & II.
Let us know what you think by sending your feedback to bird-reference@ouhsc.edu
Check out our new interactive SMART whiteboard - the "kapp iQ"!
The Library has recently purchased the SMART kapp iQ, an interactive half whiteboard and half Ultra HD display. When you want to brainstorm, grab a digital pen and start writing like you would on any whiteboard. You can share and print your notes, tackle assignments and pass ideas back and forth as you think of them, with colleagues or classmates in the same room or across the country. Once you switch to display mode, you can show all kinds of media in Ultra HD resolution.
The kapp iQ is available for use for OUHSC students, staff, and faculty and is located on the 3rd floor in the Robert M. Bird Library across from the Service Desk. You can check out digital pens in the Non-Print Media Department.
Shari Clifton, Associate Director receives Outstanding Alumni Award from OLA!
Shari Clifton, Associate Director; Professor, Department of Health Sciences Library and Information Systems, Graduate College; and Head of Reference and Instructional Services at the Robert M. Bird Library was recently presented with the Outstanding Alumni Award for the School of Library and Information Studies at the Oklahoma Library Association meeting for her commitment to working with the alumni association
In response to her acknowledgement, besides thanking her team, colleagues, co-workers and family, she had this to say, "...I love what I do and feel so fortunate to work at the Bird Library and the OUHSC. It is important to me to feel like I have a job where I can make a difference...I have always had opportunities to do that here."
Phill Jo, Assistant Professor was welcomed into the Rising Star Program for MLA!
Phill Jo, Assistant Professor, Department of Health Sciences Library and Information Systems, Graduate College; and Reference and Instructional Services Librarian, was recently accepted into the Medical Library Association's (MLA) Rising Star Program. The Rising Stars program is MLA's member leadership development program. The curriculum uses best practices in professional development and MLA's growing expertise in education, to support an immersive program that achieves both goals.
From May 2016 to May 2017, this year's Rising Stars will dive into the literature of leadership, apply their learning in projects designed to improve MLA sections and Special Interest Groups, learn about themselves as leaders, and develop leadership skills in communication, giving and receiving feedback, and other areas. The program is an investment in the future of MLA. Good luck Phill on this new endeavor, we know you will do great!
Celebrate National Library Week @ Robert M. Bird Library!
Observed April 10-16, 2016 with the theme, "Libraries Transform." First sponsored in 1958, National Library Week is a national observance sponsored by the American Library Association (ALA) and libraries across the country each April. It is a time to celebrate the contributions of our nation's libraries and librarians and to promote library use and support. All types of libraries - school, public, academic, and special - participate.
To participate in Library Week, the library hosted a poster contest among staff incorporating the theme "Libraries Transform." Many staff members submitted posters and the winning poster selected by majority vote, was created by Payton Patterson, Library Tech III in the Non-Print Media Department. Congratulations Payton!
Kaitlyn Palone Spotlighted by Faculty Senate
Joseph J. Ferretti Publishes First OU On-Line Open-Access Book
The open-access book, “Streptococcus pyogenes: Basic Biology to Clinical Manifestations”, is now on-line at the NLM, NCBI, NIH bookshelf website and can be accessed at: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK333424
The Publisher of the book is the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center and this is the first on-line open-access book published by the University of Oklahoma. Faculty of the Robert M. Bird Health Sciences Library collaborated with Dr. Ferretti; the Department of Health Sciences Library and Information Management in the Graduate College serves as the publishing department within the OUHSC. The subject matter of the book represents everything known about the bacterium Streptococcus pyogenes – it is the “A to Z” of information about this human pathogen and the diseases it causes.
At this time, twenty-eight of thirty-one chapters are on-line, with another three chapters to be added in the next several weeks/months. One of the special features of an on-line publication is that chapters can be added or changed at any time. The present book of 28 chapters contains a total of 712 pages and almost 4,000 references.
Joseph J. Ferretti, PhD, Senior Vice President and Provost Emeritus and George Lynn Cross Research Professor with the Department of Microbiology & Immunology, serves as the lead editor for the book. He remarks, "While this book took longer than originally anticipated (this was a first for all of us), we are very pleased with the final product. We are also pleased that this open-access publication will be free and available world-wide to anyone with access to a computer. It will be an important contribution to the general public, students, and scholars with the hope of improving understanding and contributing to treatment of Streptococcus pyogenes infections and diseases."
The on-line presentation has several novel attributes, especially the ability to easily obtain publications cited in references and downloadable by pressing the [PubMed] notation. Additionally, downloading and/or printing of chapters can be accomplished easily. If one has not used the bookshelf before, its navigation capabilities are described further by pressing the [?] help button at the upper right hand corner of a chapter, which shows a section on “Using PubReader”; select Help from the menu.
Galileo Display: Farewell Coffee and Personal Reflections
Friday, February 12, 2016, 9:00-10:00 a.m., Exhibit Area-3rd Floor
The Library faculty and staff invite you to a farewell reception. Dr. Kerry Magruder, Curator, History of Science Collections, Oklahoma University Libraries, will be on hand for a personal reflection on Galileo and the materials on display. He possesses an intimate knowledge and passion for the subject and the materials, and will bring them to life.
Immediately following the reception current materials on exhibit will be replaced by additional works related to Galileo and his cohort. New items will be ready for viewing late afternoon that same day.
New Content for Henry Stewart Talks
This month's releases to The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection include a new mini-series on Future 
Directions in Therapeutic Intervention, Diagnostics and Prophylactics. As the development of new treatments and diagnostic tools requires a lot of effort and a lot of money, it is important to consider numerous factors before choosing to pursue a specific research path. This new series, containing five lectures delivered by experts from the pharmaceutical industry, presents a range of future directions for the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of diseases, their promises and pitfalls. This will be of great interest to researchers and practitioners in many fields as it provides a glimpse into cutting-edge therapeutic approaches.
Five existing series were supplemented with new talks, among them is the Obesity: science, medicine and society series launched last month, which was augmented by two lectures discussing the genetics of monogenic obesity and obesity management. The Cancer Genetics series was added with a talk on glioblastoma and the Vaccines series now includes a lecture on relevant preclinical studies. Another talk, which is series-independent, deals with immunotherapy for head and neck cancer. A full list of the newly released talks is provided below.
New series: Future Directions in Therapeutic Intervention, Diagnostics and Prophylactics
Therapeutic targeting of the intestinal barrier in inflammatory bowel disease and graft-versus-host disease
Dr. Sam Nalle – Genentech, USA
Epigenetics as a paradigm for cancer treatment: chemically targeting the histone lysine methyltransferase EZH2
Dr. Sharad K. Verma – GlaxoSmithKline, USA
Targeting microRNAs in cancer
Dr. Molly Taylor – AstraZeneca, UK
Quantitative analysis of receptor allosterism and its implication for drug discovery
Dr. Rumin Zhang – Merck, USA
Antisense oligonucleotides: the promise and the problems
Dr. Kendall S. Frazier – GlaxoSmithKline, USA
New talks in Obesity: science, medicine and society:
Genetics of monogenic obesity: part 1 of 2
Genetics of monogenic obesity: part 2 of 2
Prof. Dr. Johannes Hebebrand – University Hospital Essen, Germany
Prof. Dr. Anke Hinney – University Hospital Essen, Germany
Obesity management: lifestyle and bariatric surgery - part 2 of 2
Obesity management: lifestyle and bariatric surgery - part 1 of 2
Prof. John Wilding – University of Liverpool, UK
New talk in Cancer Genetics:
The genetics of glioblastoma
Dr. Hai Yan – Duke University School of Medicine, USA
New talk in Vaccines:
Vaccine preclinical studies - part 1 of 2
Vaccine preclinical studies - part 2 of 2
Dr. Rebecca Sheets – Grimalkin Partners
New talk in Back Pain Management:
Back pain: are we measuring the right things?
Prof. Rob Froud – Warwick Medical School, UK
New talk in Animal Models in Biomedical Research:
Legal and ethical aspects of using animals in research in the EU
Dr. Judy A. MacArthur Clark – Animals in Science Regulation Unit (ASRU), Home Office, UK
A new independent talk:
Immune checkpoint blockade and head and neck cancer
Dr. Jonathan Schoenfeld – Harvard University
OUHSC Librarian Presents Paper in Prato, Italy
Tara Malone, Reference Librarian recently traveled to Prato, Italy, to present a paper about the team’s recent outreach projects. The paper, “Health Information Outreach to Older Adults: A Community Collaboration,” was presented at the annual meeting of the Community Informatics Research Network (CIRN), an organization dedicated to issues of social justice in technology and librarianship.
At the conference, information researchers from such varied locations as New Zealand, Denmark, South Africa, Canada, Australia, and the U.S. gathered to address solutions for information disparities experienced across the globe. In particular, the conference focused on solutions for such traditionally underserved populations as the elderly, the rural, the impoverished, and other groups who are often marginalized in the struggle for access to information. Projects presented ranged from analysis of Google algorithm biases and their potentially devastating effects for searchers, to implementation of an information technology infrastructure in rural Bangladesh.
