Finding Full Text

Use these search tips to find theses or dissertations written by OUHSC graduates

To search by author:

• Search the Catalog
• Select Author/Creator from the left drop-down menu
• Enter the author's name in the search box (e.g. jorge padron or padron jorge) and click on Search
• Locate the record for your item to view your options for access (hyperlink to an electronic edition or call number and shelving location for a print edition)

To search by topic or area:

• Search the Catalog
• Enter thesis AND oklahoma AND [your keywords of interest] into the search box and click on Search
  • Remember that you may need to experiment with a number of combinations to find the keywords that provide the most relevant results
• Locate the record for your item to view your options for access (hyperlink to an electronic edition or call number and shelving location for a print edition)

To find all OUHSC theses/dissertations:

• Enter thesis AND oklahoma into the search box
  • Thesis is the appropriate search term even if you are looking for dissertations
  • This strategy will include theses or dissertations from other universities in Oklahoma if they have been added to the Bird Library's physical collection

Print copies of OUHSC theses and dissertations are shelved on the 3rd floor of the Bird Library with call numbers beginning W 4A, then organized alphabetically by author and finally by publication year

Use these search tips to find theses or dissertations written by graduates from any institution

Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)

• Search across four different databases, including dissertations and theses produced at institutions worldwide from 1743 to the present
• Access full text for most works added since 1997; select full text is available for items written prior to 1997
• OUHSC Dissertations are also included in this collection

OUHSC faculty, students, and staff can access Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) from both on and off campus through the Bird Library's Databases and Resources A-Z List or the link below. 

Databases with a Limit Option to Dissertation and/or Thesis

• The databases listed below have options available that will allow you to limit a particular search to dissertations and/or theses
• These databases do not typically provide full text access to the dissertation or thesis

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)

• Provides Publication Type limits for Doctoral Dissertation and Master's Thesis
• Select one or both of these limits to find all of the doctoral dissertations and/or master's thesis records in CINAHL 

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)

• Provides Publication Type limits for Dissertations/Theses including the ability to specify doctoral dissertations, masters theses, and/or practicum papers

APA PsycINFO

• Provides a Document Type limit for Dissertation