Finding Full Text

Step 1: Enter the journal title in Journals & Ebooks A-Z

• Need help with citations? See our Anatomy of a Citation guide
• Journals & Ebooks A-Z can be found on the library's home page under Find a Journal, Book, or Collection

Step 2: Look for your journal in the results list

• There may be more than one record if we have both print and electronic holdings

Step 3: Click on the journal title to see your options for access which may include:

Online access

• You will find hyperlinks in the View It section if electronic full text is available

Available at Robert M. Bird Library

• You will find details about our print holdings for the journal under the Get It section of the record

• Multiple links may be available and years of coverage may vary
• Navigate to the volume and issue that contains your article
• You may need to look for links such as "All Issues" or "Archives" to find older content
• Locate your article and use the link provided to view, print, or save the full text

• Our print journal collection is shelved alphabetically by journal title on the library's 4th floor

• The PMID is a series of numbers that is assigned as a unique identifier to every PubMed record
• If you have a PMID, one option for finding full text is to enter the number in the PubMed search box

DOI

• A DOI or Digital Object Identifier is a unique string of alphanumeric characters used to locate specific items on the Internet
• If you have only a DOI for an article, try entering it as your search string in Google to find the complete citation

• Navigating to PubMed from the Bird Library home page allows you to easily view your OUHSC full text options for a citation
• In Ovid MEDLINE, the PMID is referred to as the Unique Identifier or UI
• To learn more, see our PMID Tutorial

• DOI example: 10.1289/ehp.1104305
• For more information, see our DOI handout

• Provides a more visual interface that supports searching for a specific journal title or browsing journals by core title list or subject area
• Includes apps to facilitate access from your smartphone or tablet

• Journals with BrowZine can be found on the library's home page under Find a Journal, Book, or Collection
• BrowZine is best used when linking to content from 2005-present
• Learn more features in this short BrowZine video

The Bird Library's home page provides access to a number of databases that you may use to search for journal literature including:

• Ovid MEDLINE
• CINAHL (EBSCO)
• PubMed

Connect to full text directly from your search results by clicking:

• the HTML or PDF link (if available) OR
• the HSC Full Text Options link

  Additional Tips

• We have detailed instructions for finding full text in our commonly used interfaces:
  • Ovid
  • PubMed
  • EBSCO